Information Technology Services

Home » MyCloud » Usage » Desktops

Using MyCloud Desktops

With MyCloud, you have access to virtual computer desktop space that provides access to much of the software that is available in the Information Technology Services (ITS) labs on campus.

Note: Students have access to Student Desktop. Faculty and Staff have access to Campus Desktop and Student Desktop.

  1. After you Access MyCloud and log on, you will see the Apps section:

    Apps section
  2. Click the Desktops tab at the top to find your available Desktops.

    Desktops tab
  3. Locate the Desktop you want to launch in the list or use the search bar to find the exact Desktop. Click the Desktop icon to launch it.

    Desktop icons

    Note: Students have access to Student Desktop. Faculty and Staff have access to Campus Desktop and Student Desktop.
  4. The Desktop will load in a new window.

    Desktop window
  5. You can switch to Full-screen mode by maximizing the window or by using the XenDesktop toolbar at the top of the window.

    XenDesktop toolbar
  6. You can use this desktop like any other General Computing Network (GCN) Desktop on campus to run Office or perform business-related work.

    Note: There are a few limitations to this environment:
    • You do not have administrator rights and therefore cannot install or run any applications other than what is already present in the desktop.
    • You cannot make changes to any Windows settings besides adding GCN printers to your session.
    • Citrix Receiver is not present in the Windows 10 Desktops, so please use the appropriate desktop when attempting to use certain applications.
  7. To close the MyCloud Desktop, right-click on the Start button Start menu icon and select Shut down or sign out. Then select Disconnect or Sign out.

    Shut down or sign out menu
    • Disconnect: This leaves the session in a state where you may rejoin and continue where you left off. A session may remain in a disconnected state for up to 6 hours before it is automatically logged off.
    • Sign out or Log off: This completely closes the session, so you can start a fresh new session. This could potentially help end any processes that may be running in the background or if they are frozen/not responding.